Long weekend

Tomorrow I don’t have to go to work. Then it’s the weekend. Then Monday is a public holiday. So the next time I’m off to the office again is Tuesday. I love long weekends. And I love them even more when they’re four full days of long weekend.

I’m using this one to do some mountain biking with my husband, and then spend a few days with my sister celebrating her birthday and the impending birth of her first child. I can’t wait.

Biking at W2K, Taupo
What I’m doing instead of heading to the office tomorrow…

I’ve taken advantage of the fact that I only work 25 hours a week to get tomorrow off (and I still worked less than 8 hours each day this week). And in the process, I’ve realised that I don’t think I want to work a full time job ever again.

That’s not to say I’ll never work 40 hours in a week ever again. But I will try to avoid working 40 hours in a 9-5 job that requires me in the office every single week day at the same time. I love the flexibility of part time. I love having afternoons off to do stuff around the house, and sew, and garden, and do the shopping, and read books. I love that today I got to participate in a tweet chat in America, because I was home at 3pm. I love that work fits around my life, rather than my life fitting around work.

Since I finished uni, I’ve always had a full time office job, until now.  And I always thought I’d continue in that vein.  I didn’t think I had it in me to be an entrepreneur, and be my own boss.  I didn’t think I even wanted that.  But now that I’m looking towards that as my career future, I can’t wait.  Sure, it’s a bit scary.  And sure, I might not always earn as much as I did in my office job (at the moment, I certainly earn a LOT less).  But I don’t care.  It’s a small price to pay for the awesomeness of real work-life balance (or as I prefer to call it, life balance)…

(In a couple of weeks, when I add study to the mix, and apparently challenging study at that, I might feel quite differently.  But for now, can you just let me enjoy my long weekend…?)

Leave a Reply

