Weekly Challenge 13: Curry Cockles in a Can

Another week, another challenge, another lack of ideas.  I’m getting pretty fed up with starting these posts with “We couldn’t think of anything…”  But these are getting harder and harder to come up with.  The difficulty is partly that we’ve done quite a few already, and partly that our scales of weirdness are recalibrating slightly (“Jelly drink that looks like it has mould in it? Not weird enough!”, “Chicken porridge? Definitely not weird enough.”, “Dried fish snacks? Not weird enough”).  And this week the “we couldn’t think of anything” was definitely true.

So when we were in town on Saturday buying delicious treats as rewards for spring cleaning (cleaning is so much more fun when a chore earns you some peanut butter M&Ms), I decided I just needed to get The Engineer’s challenge over with, and that I wasn’t leaving the store until I had found something.  Fortunately, not long after that decision, I stumbled upon the canned curry section.  You can probably get this back home, but it’s definitely not common.  And there definitely isn’t the same variety.  After a little deliberating, we walked out with The Engineer’s lunch and challenge:

Curry Cockles in a Can.

To be honest, I think it was the alliteration that swayed me...

To be honest, I think it was the alliteration that swayed me…

When it came to lunch time, The Engineer was out, so I got things ready.  I opened the can, and had a smell and a taste, just to check if I was too cruel for giving him only this as his lunch.  It actually didn’t seem too bad, so I got to preparing.  I wanted him to appreciate the flavour, so I kept it simple, and served the curry cockles with plain rice and nothing else.

Doesn't look too bad, huh?

Doesn’t look too bad, huh?

We sat down with our lunch, and started to eat (I took a few pictures first, of course).  I was quite enjoying my lunch, which was leftovers from our Nepali takeaways from the night before, and basically forgot that this was a challenge.  The Engineer didn’t seem to be complaining, so I left him to it.  Then I remembered that it was a challenge, and decided I needed to get in on the tasting.  I took a bite, and…

‘I can’t believe you’ve just been eating this as if it was a normal lunch!’  My small bite was more than enough for me.  The cockles had a weird pasty texture, and the flavour was just not right.  There was a definite curry flavour, but it was accompanied by an overly sea-ish, slightly off taste.  Let’s just say, I was very glad this was not my lunch, and that I could get rid of the taste with a delicious spicy chicken wing.

When The Engineer gave up, leaving half of it uneaten, he swore it was just that he was full.  He said it wasn’t too bad, except for the odd sandy bit.  And he really seemed to mean it.  I wasn’t quite so sure though… I don’t think we’ll be buying any more canned curries in a hurry.  Squid or chicken might be better.  But for the same price as that can of curry, we could enjoy a Nasi Campur from our favourite riverside foodcourt.  Which would include rice, vegetables, and an actual nice curry.  I know where I’ll be putting my money in future!

The Engineer and his curry cockles

The Engineer and his curry cockles

 

 

Leave a Reply

