What has been happening?

Over the last few months (really nearly a year!), I have been pretty slack on the blogging front.  It’s not that I don’t have time.  It’s often that I don’t have a lot of energy.  But mostly there’s no real reason.  I’ve just been doing other stuff.  However, this week we have an amah (local word for maid) starting.  This means I have to be home and not in bed three mornings a week.  And what better way to use that time than to get back into the blogging habit.

As with any period of absence, a lot has been happening between posts.  Some things will get their own individual posts later, but some things are not interesting enough for that, but are still worth sharing.  Here are some of the highlights:

  • We took a trip to Kuala Lumpur.  It was our first trip there, and I basically couldn’t handle the heat at all.  So we stuck mostly to malls and the hotel room.  I ate too much pizza, and definitely need to go back there when not in early pregnancy to explore some of the more interesting bits.

    Hanging with a mad crab at the KL Aquarium

    Hanging with a mad crab at the KL Aquarium

  • We went to Thailand for Christmas.  After an unfortunate series of events, my parents had to cancel their planned visit.  We still wanted to hang with family, so we headed to the nearest qualifier, and had Christmas with my sister in an apartment in Chiang Mai.  We played lots of board games, ate great food, and even did a little bit of touristing.

    Dancing weirdly at the rather glorious White Temple in Chiang Rai

    Dancing weirdly at the rather glorious White Temple in Chiang Rai

  • We continued to explore Brunei, and did quite a bit of walking once I felt a bit better.

    On a walk at the Kuala Belait mosque.

    On a walk at the Kuala Belait mosque.

  •   We had a weekend at the Borneo Tropical Rainforest Resort in Miri.  We walked and explored a little, swam a little, ate quite a lot, and relaxed.  It was lovely, if a little run down…

    Selfies on the balcony.

    Selfies on the balcony.

  • I went HOME.  I whizzed around New Zealand, and visited family and friends.  I ate delicious food, and did lots of shopping for me and the baby (and a little bit for The Engineer).  I was there for two weeks and it was nowhere near long enough.

    The weather was pretty nice too.  And the scenery.  I love New Zealand.

    The weather was pretty nice too. And the scenery. I love New Zealand.

  • We took a trip to Kota Kinabalu (our first time there too).  We explored the city, and then headed out to Gaya Island Resort where we had an amazingly relaxing and luxurious three days.  It was the most expensive place we’ve ever stayed, but worth every penny for a last chance to do nothing but sit by a pool and relax in beautiful surroundings.

    I am not usually a resort person, but I have to admit it was pretty amazing.

    I am not usually a resort person, but I have to admit it was pretty amazing.

  • We got organised for this baby to arrive.  We bought curtains and baby baths and tiny clothes.  We had lots of appointments.  I got fatter and fatter.  We hired a maid.  We started learning about labour and birth and newborn care.  We freaked out a little, but also got very excited!
  • My parents rescheduled the failed Christmas visit, and came to see us in early June.  We ticked off most of the Brunei guidebook, and then basically just relaxed and chatted and watched Michael Palin travel documentaries for a week.  It was lovely to see them, even if I wasn’t able to drag my giant self out as much as I would have liked!
  • I tried to keep up the exercise.  I have been doing yoga, swimming with some lovely ladies, and walking occasionally when the weather allows.

And that pretty much brings us to now.  The Engineer is going through a busy spell at work.  I am packing hospital bags, and getting organised and relaxing.  We are buying a second car.  The Engineer is no longer allowed to take off shore visits, and will soon have to take his phone off silent for all day meetings.  We know that this baby could make an appearance at any time (although I still think I’m going to go right to the bitter end).  Our life right now is both fairly boring and extremely exciting.

 

Leave a Reply

