Happy Birthday to The Engineer!

Sometimes I sit back and look at what I am doing, and I am just amazed that this is really my life.  For example, last week I was sitting in a comfortable black leather chair while someone massaged my swollen feet and gave me a pedicure.  While I did this, someone else was at my house cleaning.  On this particular day I didn’t, but I could have followed the pedicure with a leisurely swim and a coffee with a friend.  It is really quite perfect for this late stage of pregnancy, and the reason I can be doing this is all thanks to this guy:

My Engineer

The Engineer is pretty much the raddest dude I know, and today is his 31st birthday.  So I’m going to make it all about him.  Even today, he is at work while I coffee with friends, and cruise around (although I did get up bright and early to make him breakfast, and plan to make him dinner AND dessert later).

But it’s not just the fact that he goes out to bring home the bacon while I live a life of leisure that I appreciate, far from it.  In fact, that’s one of the least important things to me.  The reason I am really thankful for him is that this guy is a great supporter/team mate/life partner.  He is helpful, understanding, and always willing to go the extra mile.  Nothing is too much trouble.

During the first trimester of my pregnancy, he did almost all the cooking, more than half the chores, and still went to work.  I did… nothing! But even so, he never once made me feel bad for that.  He just saw that he needed to help out, and he did.  No fuss, no drama.  (I may or may not have created some drama, but I wouldn’t want to lay the blame anywhere near him for that.  Pregnancy hormones are a much more appropriate direction to point that finger.)

DSC_0146

And on top of that, he’s funny and fun, and just a great person to live with.  I should know, I’ve been doing it for ten years now!  He is relaxed and easygoing, and is always willing to give new things a try.  He takes a while to get to know, but I’ve crossed that bridge, and I know for sure that he’s going to be a wonderful dad.  I am excited to share the next ten years with him and see where they take us.

(In case anyone thinks this is getting a bit sappy:  Firstly, you’re right, but at least I don’t do it too often… right? Secondly, I am not pretending that he’s a paragon of perfection.  He has been known to let off some noxious gases, occasionally even in bed. And he takes about five times as long as the normal person to eat a meal (unless he’s really hungry, in which case it’s gone in seconds).  But really, I can promise you that the above is not a lie or an exaggeration.  Far from it.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So today I want to say a huge HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my favourite of gentlemen and wish him all the best as he learns to deal with a new baby and a somewhat crazy wife in the coming weeks and months. It’s going to be an adventure, but I can’t imagine anyone better to go on that adventure with.

I love you, dude.

Happy Birthday.

 

Leave a Reply

