One person’s victory is another person’s disaster

In the last week, we have been working on getting The Engineer’s Baby to take naps on her bed. And in the last two days, we have had success. She is right now on her third bed nap in two days. This is a major victory after nearly nine months of her sleeping in a carrier while we walk and bounce.

But as we celebrate, I am realising that to some this situation would be a catastrophic failure. You see, the bed naps still require me to cuddle and pat and walk her to sleep. To get a decent length nap, I need to stay in there to resettle her from time to time. It’s not exactly the stress free napping we all dream of.

This nap success comes after some night sleep success over the last couple of months. With a lot of help from The Engineer, I no longer feed her to sleep. She sleeps on her bed all night, and wakes once for a feed, sometimes twice. She goes to bed at 6:30 and wakes up around 5:30. Once again, not exactly some people’s idea of perfect.

To me, both of these situations are absolutely amazing. I can see her growing and learning to calm down (instead of getting manically over tired). I am getting a little bit more space from her. I am hopeful that things will improve more in the future.

But it’s also a great reminder that our journeys are our own, and no one else’s. And it’s not worth comparing them. If I compare this sleep situation to the best sleepers I know, I’d probably break down and cry. If I compare it to the worst sleepers I know, I’d feel pretty darn good, maybe even a little cocky. But both comparisons are just pointless. Because The Engineer’s Baby is not either of those other babies, nor will she ever be. And nor would I want her to be. Because she’s awesome as she is.

I tend to be a little on the competitive side, so it’s not always easy to just focus on my own path. I get distracted by everything else out there. But I am making a concerted effort to put some blinkers on and forget about the others. It’s not a race. It’s an adventure, and a wonderful one at that!

And for us, in our adventure, these bed naps are absolutely something to celebrate!

image

The Engineer's Baby off on a washing basket adventure

Leave a Reply

